Soul of the City

This team will look at how Annapolis approaches Art of all types, identify the current artistic community, consider ways to strengthen communication amongst like-minded groups, what resources there are for funding and what we can improve.

On March 4, the team held a workshop at Maryland Hall bringing many of the local arts decision-makers into the same space to connect with an eye to creating relationships that can encourage collaboration and innovation.  They looked at needs and concerns for the arts in the city, including events, funding, marketing, education and venues.  Attendance was by invitation.

Workshop Attendees:
Aaron Axe (Candidate, State Delegate), Jennifer Balducci (SOFO), Jeni Parris Brady (Naptownmusic), Sally Boyette (Shakespeare Theater), Laura Brino (Jovenes Artistas), Jimi Davies (UpStArt), Patrice Drago (Artist), Katherine Hilton (Live Arts!), Cindy Fletcher Holden (Artist), Ben Isenberg (Arts Week), Julien Jacques (Make Your Mark Media Inc), Carolyn Kirby (Summer Garden Theater), Emily Kohlenstein (MD Hall), Su Anne Martinez (West Annapolis Art Works), Joanna Masterson (MD Ave), Michael Matthews (Artist), Cynthia McBride (Gallery owner), Lucinda Merry-Browne (Compass Rose), Laurie Nolan (Art Things), Celia Pearson (Artist), Sara Phillips (USNA), Elizabeth Ramirez  (Arts Alliance), Mary Rosoff (AACPS art teacher), Rob Savidge Alderman, Ward 7), Tony Spencer (Artist), Vivian Spencer (Theatre, AACC), Kathy Swekel (Opera), Sara Wade (Colonial Players)

Interviews Mayor Gavin Buckley, Jane Danowitz (Chesapeake Conservancy; Senior Officer for Pew Charitable Trust’s Environmental Program),  Emily Garvin (VP, Programs, Maryland Hall), Jeff Holland (Musician, Them Eastport Oyster Boys; West and Rhode Riverkeeper),  April Nyman (ED, Arts Council of Anne Arundel County),  Sergio Polanco (Conexiones Magazine; Hispanic Liaison for the City of Annapolis) , Elly Tierney, Alderwoman, City of Annapolis

Report: To read the full report, click here and it will open in a new window.

Team Leaders: Julia Gibb & Pam Stevens
Members: Selin Balci, c.l. Bigelow, Alison Harbaugh, Cynthia Krewson, Ellen Moyer, Wil Scott, Joann Vaughn
Contributors: Loni Moyer (ENV)